web stats

IFMA names 2019 Awards of Excellence winners at World Workplace

The International Facility Management Association announced the winners of the 2019 Awards of Excellence at its World Workplace Conference and Expo in Phoenix. IFMA’s annual awards honor the stand-out achievements of association members, chapters, councils and communities.

“Those being honored today have not only endeavored to foster and fortify FM’s current stature in the workplace; but are also paving the way for our profession’s future,” said Chair of IFMA’s Global Board of Directors John Carrillo, CFM, IFMA Fellow. “Year after year, our professional community benefits from the ideas, innovations, resources and breakthroughs of every award nominee and recipient.”

At a seated luncheon on the closing day of World Workplace, IFMA announced the 2019 Awards of Excellence recipients. Winners were recognized in 12 categories, with judging panels comprised of industry experts scoring nominees individually across a variety of category-specific criteria.

Associate Member Award

  • Tim Burdge, MSFM, FMP. Senior Associate, Syska Hennessy. New York City Chapter of IFMA

Distinguished Author Award, Research Paper

  • Dr. Audrey Schultz, Associate Professor, Pratt Institute. “Built Environment Project and Asset Management”

Distinguished Author Award, Book

  • Geoff Williams, FMP“The Facility Manager’s Guide to Information Technology, 2.1 Edition”.

Chapter Award of Excellence in Professional Development

  • Boston Chapter of IFMA

Chapter Award of Excellence in Web Communication

  • New York City Chapter of IFMA

FM Innovation Award

  • Five-chapter SFP® (Sustainability Facility Professional®) Collaboration. Denver, Greater Phoenix, Dallas/Fort Worth, Capital and Richmond Chapters of IFMA

Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management

  • Emaar Sustainable Facility Management. Burj Khalifa, Dubai, UAE

Distinguished Educator Award

  • Phyllis Meng, CFM, SFP, IFMA Fellow

Student Chapter of the Year Award

  • Chaffey College Student Chapter of IFMA

Council/Community of the Year Award

  • City and Country Clubs Council of IFMA

Small Chapter of the Year Award

  • Chesapeake Chapter of IFMA

Large Chapter of the Year Award

  • New York City Chapter of IFMA

The IFMA Foundation also presented its annual Trustees Awards to those whose outstanding achievements advance the aims of the organization. Foundation Advisor Erik Jaspers and Chair Joe Archie recognized Darin Rose, the Airport Facilities Council of IFMA, Ferris State Student Chapter of IFMA and IFMA Silver-level Corporate Sustaining Partner Sodexo at the Oct. 18 Awards of Excellence luncheon. Foundation Chair Joe Archie presented a special Chairman’s Award to Bob Dills for his dedicated service as a volunteer and Trustee.