web stats

IFMA names 2018 Awards of Excellence winners at World Workplace Conference and Expo

The International Facility Management Association (IFMA) has announced the winners of the 2018 Awards of Excellence at its World Workplace Conference and Expo in Charlotte, North Carolina, USA. The annual awards honor the stand-out achievements of IFMA members, chapters, councils and communities.

“Behind each of these awards is the hard work and dedication of FM professionals to achieve results and contribute to something larger then themselves,” said Graham Tier, CFM, FMP, MRICS, chair of IFMA’s global board of directors. “Everything that IFMA accomplishes as a global leader in FM is directly attributable to the effort of our members. We recognize these efforts with awards to demonstrate our appreciation as a community. The Awards of Excellence are our chance to step back and recognize how far we’ve come as an association and an industry, and to thank those colleagues who have set the pace.”

Winners were recognized in 16 categories, with judging panels comprised of industry experts scoring nominees individually across a variety of category-specific criteria.

2018 IFMA Awards of Excellence recipients

Distinguished Author Award: Web-based/Social Media
Jenny Yeung, CFM, CEnv., MRICS, MSOE
Hong Kong Chapter of IFMA

Distinguished Author Award: Article
Peter Kimmel, IFMA Fellow

Distinguished Author Award: Book
Rex Miller

Chapter Award of Excellence in Web Communications
San Diego Chapter of IFMA

Chapter Award of Excellence in Government Affairs
Denver Chapter of IFMA

Chapter Award of Excellence in Professional Development
Denver Chapter of IFMA

Emerging Professional Award
Derek Bacigal, FMP, SFP, CHFE, CDOE, CCE, CPO, CQM
U.S. Department of the Army
Hale Koa Hotel

Distinguished Educator Award
Dr. Joseph H.K. Lai
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Associate Member of the Year
Judith Sayler, CPSM, LEED AP
Gordon Prill Inc.

Distinguished Member Award
Wayne Whitzell, LEED AP, BEP, GBO
DFS Green

Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management
YMUS Cypress Facility Team

FM Innovation Award
Project Sagamore
EMD Serono

Student Chapter of the Year Award
Greater Phoenix Student Chapter of IFMA

Community of the Year Award
Workplace Evolutionaries (WE)

Small Chapter of the Year Award
Sacramento Valley Chapter of IFMA

Large Chapter of the Year Award
Boston Chapter of IFMA

In addition to the Awards of Excellence, IFMA Foundation Chair Nancy Sanquist, IFMA Fellow, presented Foundation Trustees Awards to Phyllis Meng, CFM, SFP, IFMA Fellow; John Carey (Houston Chapter of IFMA); and the San Fernando Valley, Orange County and New York City Chapters of IFMA.